Skip to content Skip to navigation

Events

Condensed Matter Physics Seminars 2020-2021 Academic Year

Not all of the meetings are recorded

DATE SPEAKER HOST TITLE  AFFILIATION ABSTRACT

Thursday, September 24, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

John Tranquada

Young Lee

 

Cuprate Superconductors as Viewed through a Striped Lens

Brookhaven National Lab

 

Abstract

Zoom Recording

Thursday, October 1, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

Kazuhiro Fujita Young Lee

Visualizing the Cuprate Pair Density Wave State

Brookhaven National Lab

Abstract

Thursday, October 8, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

Harold Hwang

Steve Kivelson

Superconductivity in infinite layer nickelates

Stanford University

Abstract

Thursday, October 15, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

Michael Norman Steve Kivelson Why Haven't We Had the YBCO Discovery Yet in the Nickelates? Argonne National Laboratory

Abstract

Zoom Recording

YouTube

Thursday, October 22, 2020   

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom.                    

Nai Phuan Ong          

Steve Kivelson

 

Low temperature thermal transport in the spin liquid state of a-
RuCl3              

Princeton University

 

Abstract      
Thursday, November 5, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

Tarun Grover Xiao-Liang Qi Simulatable models of nodal superconductivity and Kondo breakdown University of California, San Diego

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, December 3, 2020

3:15pm, to be held over Zoom

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero

Steve Kivelson

Moiré Magic 3.0 Massachusetts Institute of Technology Abstract
Thursday, February 11, 2021 Charlie Kane Steve Kivelson Translation symmetry enriched topological phases University of Pennsylvania

Abstract

YouTube

 

Thursday, March 4, 2021 Michael Manfra Steve Kivelson Direct observation of anyonic braiding statistics Purdue University

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, April 8, 2021 Chandra Varma Srinivas Raghu Discovery of an ultra-quantum spin-liquid University of California, Berkeley Abstract
Thursday, April 15, 2021 Chao-Ming Jian Xiao-Liang Qi Entanglement Criticality in Random Quantum Circuits Cornell University

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, April 22, 2021 Greg Boebinger Steve Kivelson What's going on at optimal doping in high-temperature superconductors? Florida State University Abstract
Thursday, May 6, 2021 Richard Scalettar Steve Kivelson Charge and Pairing order in the Holstein Hamiltonian
 

University of California, Davis

 

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, May 13, 2021 Joseph Falson Steve Kivelson Strongly correlated electrons in ultra-clean oxides California Institute of Technology

Abstract

Zoom Recording

 

Thursday, May 20, 2021 Xie Chen Xiao-Liang Qi Fracton and Chern-Simons Theory California Institute of Technology

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, May 27, 2021 Joel Moore & Maxime Dupont Vedika Khemani Spin hydrodynamics: from spin chains to neutron scattering to topological spin liquids in 2D University of California, Berkeley & Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Abstract

YouTube

Thursday, June 3, 2021 Senthil Todadri Young Lee Re-entrant superconductivity in twisted trilayer graphene Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Abstract

YouTube

           
           

VIEW PAST CONDENSE MATTER PHYSICS SEMINAR (2019-2020) HERE