Skip to content Skip to navigation

Calendar

Condensed Matter Physics Seminars 2015-2016 Academic Year

date speaker host Title affiliation abstract
Thursday, June 2, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Haim Beidenkopf Aharon Kapitulnik "Tantalizing Fermi arcs in a Weyl semi-metal" Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel Abstract
Thursday, May 26, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Tyrel McQueen Ian Fisher "Putting Electrons and Holes in Spin Liquids" Johns Hopkins University Abstract
Thursday, May 19, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Eli Yablonovitch Steven Kivelson "What Does the Clock Speed of My Computer Have to do With the Fundamental Constants of Nature, h, c, q, m?" UC Berkeley Abstract
Thursday, May 12, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Boris Spivak Steven Kivelson "Chiral Anomaly and Classical Negative Magnetoresistance of Weyl Metal" University of Washington Abstract
Thursday, Apr 21, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Francesco Giazotto Young Lee "Superconducting coherent caloritronics" NEST, istituto Nanosciencze-CNR & Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa Abstract
Thursday, Apr 7, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Girsh Blumberg Ian Fisher "Chirality density wave of the "hidden order" phase in URu2Si2" Rutgers University Abstract
Thursday, Mar 31, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Andrew Mackenzie Steven Kivelson "Water, honey and electrons - evidence for electronic hydrodynamics in naturally occurring materials" University of St. Andrews Abstract
Thursday, Mar 17, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Frank Weber Ian Fisher "Electron-phonon coupling in layered charge-density-wave materials and the interplay with superconductivity" Karlsruhe Institute of Technology Abstract
Thursday, Mar 10, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Manuel Bibes Yuri Suzuki "BiFeO3 for electronics, magnonics, photonics and beyond" CNRS (Thales) Abstract
Thursday, Mar 3, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Samuel Lederer Steven Kivelson "Ising nematic quantum critical point in a metal: a Monte Carlo study" MIT Abstract
Thursday, Feb 25 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Naoto Nagaosa Zhi-Xun Shen "Interaction effects in Weyl/Dirac fermions" RIKEN CEMS, University of Tokyo Abstract
Thursday, Feb 18 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Srinivas Raghu Steven Kivelson "Metallic quantum critical points with finite BCS couplings" Stanford University Abstract
Thursday, Feb 11 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Mansour Shayegan Michael Mulligan "News from Princeton Flatlands" Princeton University Abstract
Thursday, Feb 4, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Z. Qiu Yuri Suzuki "A synthesis and study of artificial magnetic skyrmions" UC Berkeley Abstract
Thursday, Jan 28, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Avishai Benyamini David Goldhaber-Gordon "Attraction by repulsion: pairing electrons with electrons" Weizmann Institute Abstract
Thursday, Jan 14, 2016 3:15pm McCullough 115 Eugene Demler Shoucheng Zhang "Nonequilibrium dynamics of fermions: from resonant Xray scattering to photo-induced superconductivity to ultracold atoms" Harvard University Abstract
Thursday, Dec 3, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Vincent Humbert David Goldhaber-Gordon "Disorder-Induced Quantum Phase Transition in NbSi Thin Films" CSNSM, Orsay Abstract
Thursday, Nov 19, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 David Hsieh Xiaoliang Qi "Hidden order in a perovskite irridate revealed by nonlinear optics" CalTech Abstract
Thursday, Nov 12, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Rafael Fernandes Ian Fisher "Nematic order in unconventional superconductors: the intriquing case of FeSe" University of Minnesota Abstract
Thursday, Nov 5, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Boris Altshuler Aharon Kapitulnik "Localization at the Edge of 2D Topological Insulator by Kondo Impurities" Columbia University Abstract
Thursday, Oct 29, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Cui-Zu Chang Shoucheng Zhang "Zero-field dissipationless chiral edge current in the quantum anomalous Hall state" MIT Abstract
Thursday, Oct 22, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Shaffique Adam David Goldhaber-Gordon "Effects of disorder and interactions in graphene" Yale-NUS Abstract
Thursday, Oct 15, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Bjorn Trauzettel Shoucheng Zhang "Superconducting hybrid structures based on quantum spin Hall systems" Würzburg University Abstract
Thursday, Oct 8, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Chandra Varma Steven Kivelson "Strange Metal Phases in 2D Metallic Antiferromagnets, Ferromagnets and in the Cuprates" UC Riverside Abstract
Thursday, Oct 1, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Matthew P.A. Fisher Steven Kivelson "Quantum Cognition" UC Santa Barbara Abstract

Applied Physics/Physics Colloquium Schedule

Materials Science and Engineering Colloquium Series