Skip to content Skip to navigation

Calendar

Condensed Matter Physics Seminars 2014-2015 Academic Year

date speaker host Title affiliation abstract
Thursday, May 30, McCullough 115 K. F. Kelton Steven Kivelson Correlation between Kinetic and Structural Fragility in Metallic Liquids Washington University Abstract
Thursday, May 14, McCullough 115 Rahul Nandkishore Sri Raghu TBA Princeton University TBA
Thursday, May 7, McCullough 115 Roman Lutchyn Sri Raghu TBA UC Santa Barbara TBA
Thursday, April 30, McCullough 115 Nicholas Curro Ian Fisher NMR Studies of Nematicity in the Iron-based Superconductors and the Role of Disorder UC Davis Abstract
Thursday, April 23, McCullough 115 James Analytis Steven Kivelson TBA UC Berkeley TBA
Thursday, April 9, McCullough 115 Ashvin Vishwanath Xiao-Liang Qi TBA UC Berkeley TBA
Thursday, April 2, 2015 McCullough 115 Abhay Pasupathy Steven Kivelson "Short Stories on Fermi Surface Nesting" Columbia University Abstract
Thursday, March 12, 2015 McCullough 115 Taylor L. Hughes Xiao-Liang Qi "Interplay between Symmetry and Geometry in Topological Phases" University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Abstract
Thursday, Feb. 26, 2015 McCullough 115 Yoram Dagan Harold Hwang "2D to 1D Oxide interfaces: superconductivity, magnetism and ballistic transport effects" University of Tel Aviv Abstract
Thursday, Feb 19, 2015 McCullough 115 Gregory S. Boebinger David Goldhaber-Gordon "The Phase Diagram of the Cuprate Superconductors: A Survey of Magnetotransport and Specific Heat Measurements" National High Magnetic Field Laboratory Abstract
Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Michael Flatté Yuri Suzuki "Room-temperature electronic spin correlations: towards spin-coherent technologies" University of Iowa Abstract
Thursday, Feb. 5, 2015 3:15pm McCullough 115 Benjamin Lev Benjamin Lev "The SQCRAMscope: Probing exotic materials with quantum gases" Stanford University Abstract
Thursday, Jan. 29, 2015, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Brad Ramshaw David Goldhaber-Gordon "Ultrasound as a symmetry probe of quantum materials" Los Alamos National Laboratory Abstract
Thursday, Jan. 22, 2015, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Alexander Sushkov David Goldhaber-Gordon "Magnetic Resonance with Single Nuclear-Spin Sensitivity" Harvard University Abstract
Thursday, Jan. 15, 2015, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Jason Petta David Goldhaber-Gordon "Few-Atom Masers" Princeton University Abstract
Thursday, Jan. 8, 2015,
3:15pm McCullough 115
Young Lee Young Lee "Frustration and its benefits: flat bands and topological magnons" Stanford University and SLAC Abstract
Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Emanuel Gull Richard Martin "Spectroscopic aspects and pairing glue of superconductivity in the 2D Hubbard model" University of Michigan Abstract
Thursday, Nov. 13, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Gil Refael Xiao-Liang Qi "Light matters - from Floquet topological insulators to topological polaritons" California Institute of Technology Abstract
Thursday, Nov. 6, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Tarun Grover Xiao-Liang Qi "Thermalization at the Many-body localization Phase Transition" Kavli Institute for Theoretical Physics Abstract
Thursday, Oct. 30, 2014, 3:15pm
McCullough 115
Joseph Checkelsky Harold Hwang "Probing Topological Insulators by Materials Design" Massachusetts Institute of Technology Abstract
Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014, 3:15pm
McCullough 115
Xiaodong Xu Harold Hwang "Spin and pseudospins in 2D semiconductors" University of Washington

Abstract

Thursday, Oct. 16, 2014, 3:15pm
McCullough 115
David Mitzi Aharon Kapitulnik "Current Status and Future Prospects of Earth Abundant Kesterite Photovoltaics" Duke University Abstract
Thursday, Oct. 9, 2014, 3:15pm
McCullough 115
Yi Cui Xiao-Liang Qi "Re-inventing Batteries: What's possible?" Stanford University Abstract
Thursday, Oct. 2, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Ilya Krivorotov Harold Hwang "Spin-orbitronics in metallic nanostructures" UC Irvine Abstract
Thursday, Sept. 25, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 George Sawatzky Thomas Devereaux "The explicit role of O 2p states in high oxidation state transition metal Oxides" University of British Columbia Abstract
Thursday, Sept. 18, 2014, 3:15pm McCullough 115 Takasada Shibauchi Ian Fisher "Hidden order and exotic superconductivity in URu2Si22" University of Tokyo Abstract

Applied Physics/Physics Colloquium Schedule

Materials Science and Engineering Colloquium Series